UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-04-20 - 4:35 p.m.

OPERATOR ERROR

As I have not done in days, I came up with a topic. I carefully and deliberately typed out an entry in WordPerfect. WordPerfect and I have never been the best of friends as I much prefer the Word that I use at the office. But I cannot blame this one on WordPerfect. When I accidentally closed the entry I had edited, WordPerfect asked me if I wanted to save it. I meant to tell the computer that I did but somehow there was a disconnect between my mind and my fingers�and the entry is gone.

If I were my boss, I would blame the problem on the computer. Of course, if I were my boss, I would never realize that the computer just did what I asked it to. All I would know was that the computer did not do what I intended. I�d be sure there was a computer problem. Somehow, those of us who should most question our own actions are rarely the ones who do. But taking responsibility for causing my own frustration here is not a matter of morality as much as it is a matter of knowledge. She does not take responsibility because she does not know. I know. I know I did something idiotic.

I thought about what I had written. I mulled over re-writing the entry but the moving spirit vanished on the wings of the �stupid, stupid, stupid� that was ringing in my brain. I considered not writing at all. But this week I�ve learned how quickly not writing for legitimate reasons grows into not writing at all and I�ve missed it. So, I am confessing my error.

Perhaps you would have preferred a piece on the beauties of finding a new CD of Branford Marsalis recording with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. Rediscovery of new love is so much more exciting than reading about stupidity. (Oops! I�m sorry. There is no stupidity�just mistakes and areas of need�at least according to our superintendent.) But that�s not what you get.

At least the less computer literate among you (or at least those who are foolish enough to still be reading) get the reassurance that even those with more experience and knowledge sometimes blow it. As for the rest of you, you can at least have the relief of knowing it didn�t happen to you�at least this time.

LAST YEAR: It Could Be Worse

Playing Hooky
A Man With Good Tools
Mom as an Immaturity Factor
Maintaining Success
Questions, Questions

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!