UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
02/24/2005 - 7:25 p.m.

A PLAGUE ON THE PLAGUE

I'm definitely improving�physically at least. This week I have had the cold to end all colds. Decapitation has been sounding better and better to me�and this time I'm talking about my own decapitation. With my luck, though, I'd survive and my head would only hurt worse.

Now that my kids are older, I sometimes am allowed to be sick. Unfortunately, school board affairs have interrupted all my attempts at being sick this week. I had to drag myself to a school board meeting on Tuesday where failing to pass something would cost the district an expensive (think $400,000-$500,000) tangle with the EEOC including both fines and attorneys fees. I thought I would be the vital third vote and I was. I would have thought that sitting down, sneezing, coughing, and sounding as bad as I did would have hurried the meeting but I would have thought wrong. As long as people could move away from me they were willing to just keep jabbering for hours.

Yesterday, I had to take my germy self to prison. I had to prepare a client to testify at a hearing next week and prison procedures made it too difficult to try to reschedule in time. I did not shake his hand and he was grateful. When guys in a prison would prefer not to make physical contact with a woman, you know she's toxic. I then dragged myself to the courthouse to serve an order on the sheriff. None of my coughing and sneezing made a dent on the woman behind the counter. She continued chatting on the phone with her friend forever while I considered sneezing on the order she had to take from me.

Today, I thought. Today I can be sick. And mainly I was. I dozed all morning but then I had to talk to the girls' school counselor about Kat's senioritis. I wanted to doze in the afternoon but Day came home upset and then I had another school board meeting with our attorney. I tried not to say much because I get impatient when I get sick and I wanted the people there to understand what I had been trying to tell them. I needed our attorney's credibility. He's our lawyer. He should know. I'm just a criminal defense lawyer. What would I know?

But I am starting to feel a little bit better. I will go back to work tomorrow for at least part of the day. I just hope it's a quiet day.

And my mood? It's improving. It's gone from lethargic to angry, which suggests I have more energy.

A plague on this plague!

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!