UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-01-19 - 6:14 a.m.

PUPPY DOGS

According to the old nursery rhyme, it is little boys who are made of �snips and snails and puppy dog tails.� Well, the boys may have the tails, but my girls seem to have the rest of the puppy inside them, at least when they are both in good moods and together. Last night, I watched them roll all over the floor together, get all yippy and yappy and excited, and almost break the furniture.

Part of me just wanted to enjoy the spirit of the thing. I used to be able to giggle over nothing like that�even when I wasn�t over-tired. (As Kat once pointed out, in this family, an over-tired mother is manic while an over-tired father is depressed.) I enjoy physical activities like pillow fights and dancing around so why not this activity?

The adult part of me wanted to break them up before someone got hurt. No, more accurately, that part of me wanted to break them up before Kat got hurt. Somehow, it�s always Kat who gets hurt. She�s almost a foot taller than Day-Hay and weighs almost twice as much but it�s still Kat who gets hurt. Apparently, a good sense of one�s body in space is more protection than size.

But yesterday night no one really got hurt and they even calmed themselves down�eventually. They wrestled and rolled and wiggled all over and then they rested. Even then they seemed like puppies, tired puppies. They flipped on the television, something they rarely do, and watched side by side�sort of.

And for the first time in a while, I thought, �Aren�t they cute?�

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!