UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-07-12 - 6:36 p.m.

RACHEL USURPS LEAH

Rachel usurped Leah this week, rather than the other way �round. Not literally, of course, as neither of my children are named Rachel and neither of my children are named Leah. For that matter, neither of my children married anyone, let alone Jacob. But the subject is the second forging ahead of the first. Day-Hay, not Kat, has become the first child I�ve moved into (and out of) a college dorm.

Day-Hay also has become the first child for whom a dorm room purchase. We now are the proud owners of a desperately ugly, but wonderfully cheap, silver lamp. Kat claims she would never take such a thing to college but she�ll change her tune when she realizes what her costs are likely to be so chances are that the ultimately owner of the ugly silver lamp will be Kat. But I digress.

This past week, Day-Hay attended a girl scout �Wider Opportunity� at Alverno College. A �wider op� is a girl scout event for Cadette or Senior scouts from across the nation. One must be selected for such an event so Day-Hay has been quite excited since last winter when she learned she was in. The event, sponsored jointly by the Girl Scouts and Alverno College, was called �Cybermedia� and provided opportunities for girls to learn about digital photography, desktop publishing, web design, and computer movie-making. Day-Hay was in the more advanced web design class.

The packing list made it clear that she would be living in a college dormitory. They suggested shower buckets designed to hold toiletries, fans as there was no air-conditioning, and lamps because there were no overhead lights. This was not camp because there was no request for sleeping bags and the alarm clocks could have cords and plugs. She did not need most linens because sheets, towels, and blankets were supplied. She could bring laundry soap and change and do laundry. Yes, this was a dorm and not camp.

I moved her in on Monday and we picked her up today. Monday, she and I moved her in. Today, her father, sister and cousin helped move her back out. I appreciated the help because the items that were so carefully packed and contained on Monday had exploded beyond their luggage boundaries on Saturday. Monday, with everything tight and compact, required a few trips because of the lamps. Saturday, with everything all over, required only one trip because of the extra help.

Now, with Kat entering her junior year, I can feel the clock ticking away. This week was but a dry run. Before long, the move to a dorm will not be a matter of a week but a matter of most of the year.

Still, if Day-Hay, my more organized daughter, can have her stuff expand that much in a dorm room in one week, I shudder to think about moving Kat out of a dorm room for the first time.

Perhaps it is a good thing that Rachel usurped Leah�at least for the parents.

LAST YEAR: The City of Lawn Chairs

TWO YEARS AGO: The Write Stuff

IN CASE YOU MISSED THEM:
Sounds of Silence
The Wages of Opinionated Children
Strawberries
My Playboy
Macho, Macho Man

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!