UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2004-04-02 - 4:25 p.m.

This piece is by a guest writer, Day-Hay, as a school assignment to write about a favorite place. I liked it and wanted to share it.

THE RANCH

My eyes rose as we arrived at the desert sand of the Tanque Verde Ranch in Arizona. I never expected this desert terrain would be the last place for me to see my uncle alive. Out tiny rental car, carrying my parents and my older sister Kat, served into the little ranch check-in shack. There was my proud and tall Uncle Rich.

As soon as we received the little key to our cabin, we trucked down to promising ranch buildings to see what there was to play. Inside the building to the horse mounting station, there was a petite game room stashed with bumper pool and ping-pong. As we neared the pool area, we sighted out little cousins N. and B. lounging about in the cool water. Excitedly, we trooped over to greet them although cautious not to receive soaking wet hugs. The arid air of the desert oven was suddenly filled with extreme happiness as Kat and I rushed off to change into swimsuits.

The soothing water clamed my fiery skin. There we all splashed and sang as if there hadn�t been months since out last glorious reunion. The next morning we really discovered this wonderful ranch. That morning we skipped down to the mounting station. An auburn horse stared at me with its deep sunken-in eyes. I loved this pony immediately with its long strides and hopeful loping heart and body. There was always a place to be and to go---even riding around in circles was cheerful to that little equine. I loved the free spirit that gave the ranch a lively meaning.

The cacti rushed under us as we flew around the open world. I never wanted to touch down again and would have slept on that mount if I could have, but I could not. The trip was over way too soon and we said goodbye to our relatives. My uncle said goobye to me for the very last time. With that, we left the wild oven with hopes in our hearts to return again another magnificent time.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!