UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-01-28 - 6:18 a.m.

OFF WITH THEIR RECEIVERS!

We must be hitting the teen years. All of a sudden, I find myself making telephone rules. We never had a need for telephone rules before. Day-Hay used to just make quick business calls and hang up. Kat had a phone phobia and generally spoke on the phone only when someone called. But, between calls to friends and the internet, we now have phone rules.

The most important phone rules are the ones for when Mr. Philately and I are not home. No one is to be on the phone for more than fifteen minutes at a time when we are not home. Yesterday night, Mr. Philately and I went out to a memorial service which, unbeknownst to us, was followed by a dinner. After the service, Mr. Philately snuck out to call and tell the girls we would be later than anticipated. Busy signal. Tried again. Busy signal. We were still there past the time we said we would be home. Still a busy signal. That bizz-up, bizz-up, bizz-up made me very unhappy. And when Mama�s unhappy, someone else will be very unhappy soon. It would be nice to know that the girls became concerned when we were substantially late�but they were too busy to notice.

I�ve resisted getting a second line even though the house is wired for it. When I�m home, my cellphone can act as a second line if necessary. Heck, when both Mr. Philately and I are home there are three phone lines available in any emergency. I know a lot of parents solve the phone problem by getting additional lines but learning to share scarce resources is a valuable lesson. Besides, the kids don�t need to be on the phone or the internet that much. Yes, I know I occasionally am on the internet for a while and I know sometimes I talk for a while but I pay for the phone. I should have priority. (Translation: Because I�m the mom. That�s why.)

So, it�s egg timer time for us. If Day-Hay prefers to set her watch, that�s fine but some timer somewhere will be set. Failure to abide by the rules will result in loss of phone privileges for all except homework calls. I will be the Queen of this House, not the Queen of the Busy Signal�and my subjects had best beware. Off with their receivers!

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!