UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-11-12 - 6:16 a.m.

RECIPE FOR DISASTER

Doing something out of character is good for the soul once in a while. Doing something creative and out of character is even better even if doing it did involve a four-letter word: cook. I invented a recipe. Mr. Philately loved it. The kids hated it (which probably is the mark of a truly great recipe.)

I didn�t start out to create a recipe. All I intended to do was make something edible that was not macaroni and cheese but I didn�t have much in the way of groceries so I just kept staring at what I did have�and then I saw the can of black beans. Suddenly, inexplicably, I wanted black beans. �Your children hate black beans,� I heard a little voice say. Suddenly, irrationally, I wanted them more and I began to consider what goes with black beans.

I rooted around in the basement area we use as a pantry. Most of the corner is taken up with breakfast cereal and applesauce. Neither was a possibility. Neither goes with black beans. I spotted mostaccioli. Perfect. I could take some off separately and let the kids put butter on them. In quick order, I grabbed tomato paste and a can of Italian tomatoes. Now we were cooking�or at least making progress in thinking about it.

I thought about ricotta cheese. A search of the refrigerator turned up cottage cheese. It wasn�t ricotta but it had possibilities. I searched for onion. I hadn�t really cooked in so long that both onions were moldy. The idea that I would actually cook excited Mr. Philately. (Note to self: perhaps I should actually cook more often.) It excited him so much that he went for fresh onions while I started the mostaccioli. (New note to self: on second thought, perhaps there isn�t much in it for me if I cook more often.)

Dinner was different. Dinner was lovely until the idea of tasting the new casserole offended Day-Hay. I was prepared for her to hate it. I was prepared to give her plain mostaccioli and cottage cheese. Unfortunately, she was prepared to make a fuss.

In the musical �Music Man,� there is a song called Iowa Stubborn. In it, they sing, �We�re so by God stubborn we can stand touching noses for a week at a time and never see eye to eye.� Mr. Philately is Iowa Stubborn. Although she�s only visited Iowa, if anything, Day-Hay is more so.

Kat and I saw it coming. We cleared out. You see, my new recipe should not be called �Mostaccioli, Bean & Tomato Casserole.� No matter how delicious, it should be called �Recipe for Disaster.�

____

Whatever I call it. It�s good. Here it is:

Recipe for Disaster

12 oz Mostaccioli

1 teaspoon sale

1 can black beans (drained)

1 teaspoon sugar

1 small onion (chopped)

� teaspoon oregano

1 clove garlic (minced)

1/8 teaspoon pepper

1 can Italian-style stewed tomatoes

8 oz. cottage cheese

1 can tomato paste

Parmesan cheese

8 mushrooms (sliced)

3 tablespoons olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Cook mostaccioli.

3. While mostaccioli is cooking, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in fry pan. Cook onion, mushroom and garlic. Add beans, tomatoes, tomato paste, remainder of olive oil, and seasonings. Simmer 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

4. Drain mostaccioli.

5. Grease casserole dish. arrange layers of mostaccioli, cottage cheese, and tomato-bean sauce in dish, ending with sauce. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese generously over the top.

6. Bake, uncovered, for 20 minutes at 375 degrees.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!