UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-08-24 - 4:18 p.m.

FINDING MY RHYTHM

This week is betwixt and between. Summer activities have ended but school doesn�t start until Monday. We have my parents here and each day is mainly unplanned. I�ve been feeling the urge to �find my rhythm.� It would help if I knew whether it was a cha-cha, a tango, or hip-hop

This whole week seems like playing a fermata. When you play a fermata, you hold the note until you decide to stop or, if you are playing with others, until someone else decides you should stop. Counting and normal rhythm are irrelevant. You just hold that note until it is either time to rest or time to play the next note. When is it time? When it is.

Earlier in the week, I thought perhaps the week simply was in syncopation. It had rhythm but a jazzy rhythm, a rhythm with a catch to it. But that was on the days I went to work. Even the work days were not quite as regular as syncopation. Thursday morning, for example, consisted of waiting in court for almost three hours only to have the clerk just give us a new date without us ever going on the record.

I considered whether I was in the middle of some postmodern piece with an odd, often changing time signature. That possibility, however, suggested some sort of plan and it seems there is none. Yesterday, for example, we started to go to a restaurant named Noodles for lunch, decided it was too crowded, went down to Benjy�s, decided it was too crowded, went into Qdoba, only to discover that Kat was refusing to eat there, and ended up back at the Noodles we started at and ate lunch because it had cleared out some by then. Circles upon circles upon circles of not much of consequence.

Hence, my belief that this week may be governed by the rhythm of too many inartfully placed fermatas. A mother�s life is often full of �hold this� and �hold that.� Usually, however, it is physical objects, not breath and transition, that she�s holding.

Fermatas can make for fascinating rhythm but I�m ready for something else. A nice waltz would be lovely. And a one and a two....

LAST YEAR: Strip Simon Says

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

My Mother, the Potential Terrorist
Talk About Frustration
The GeezerGazette
The Quest for Perfection
Irresistible

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!