UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-11-15 - 10:19 p.m.

This entry is today�s entry. I posted yesterday�s entry this morning.

SECRETS

Keeping other people�s secrets is hard but if it�s not mine to tell, I don�t tell. Keeping my own secrets is almost impossible. What�s the point of my own secret if no one knows I have one? Perhaps that�s why I can have an online journal.

Even if it�s not why I have an online journal, it may be why I was more relieved than angry when Day-Hay came downstairs this afternoon. Yes, what I was doing was shameful. Yes, it involved a four-letter word. Yes, I knew it was bad but I just couldn�t stop myself.

Day-Hay saw me and didn�t say a word about it. She just turned away and went on searching for a paintbrush in the junk of the basement. But she knew and I knew she knew. I was caught. I was busted.

No, I wasn�t eating chocolate right before dinner. Ever since I lost the excess weight this summer, I make sure that I eat what chocolate I eat right out in the open. Chocolate eaten in the open has as many calories as chocolate eaten in secret but I eat less of it in the open. Besides, if someone comes and wants to share it, I now figure that sharing is good.

I was....well.....I was (quick, someone get Bev and Mary some smelling salts)...I was using an IRON. I wasn�t sewing. Ironing during sewing doesn�t count. I was ironing a blouse. I wasn�t ironing it because I had handled it wrong in the wash. That�s bad but not as bad as what I was doing. I was ironing because my weight loss made me so giddy that I went and bought a lovely silk blouse. I can either dry clean it or wash and iron it. I�m too cheap to dry clean it so.....

Oh, forget the excuses. I know they are no good. I know a person can justify just about anything to herself if given enough time. I can look at some of my clients and figure that out. I was ironing and, if it didn�t feel good, it at least felt okay. I was ironing and I didn�t hate it. Oh, the shame!

Still, admitting a problem is the first step to solving it�or so current psychobabble would have you believe. Just in case the touchy-feelies are correct, I�m glad my secret is out so I can face it. Perhaps I should shout it to the world so I can see the error of my ways and reform.

I�m Plankton and today I ironed an entire blouse voluntarily.

There, it�s out and I feel better already.

LAST YEAR: Vacation Days

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

The Art of the Possible
Not a Tragedy
Watching Out for Missions
Making Kool-aid
What Parents Think

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!