UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-09-06 - 9:17 p.m.

L�SHANA TOVA

It�s the beginning of a new year again�at least for me. With the secular new year and the Jewish new year, I get to start over twice. At least I think that when I am being optimistic. When I�m being the pessimistic me, I�m more likely to say, �Oh, good. I can blow my resolutions twice.�

Today, though, as the New Year begins, I�m feeling optimistic. I�m not entirely sure why. I pinched the palm of my hand badly while making a holiday dinner and I almost took the tablecloth off the table while the dishes were still on it (accidentally�by getting caught in the tablecloth.) Normally, those events would be enough for me to wonder if a bad start to the year wasn�t a harbinger. But tonight, I�m in an �oh, well� mindset. No one actually complained about dinner and that good omen trumps anything else. (Not that I�m superstitious or anything.)

All of which goes to prove that it is not events that control our mood no matter how much it seems the other way round sometimes. I need evenings when I feel like this to remind me that what events do to me depends, in many instances, on how I look at them. Tonight I feel hopeful and expansive and warm. Even Day-Hay�s attempts at getting out of going to services tomorrow didn�t faze me much.

It�s a new year. It�s a new start but based in the old. Maybe this year will be good. Maybe it won�t. But it�s here no matter what I think or do or say and, strangely, I find that comforting tonight. The year will have surprises. Every year does. But I�m with the people I care about and tonight is fine.

L�Shana Tova, all. (To a good year!)

LAST YEAR: Becoming My Mom

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Crisp
Residual New Yorker
Interfering With Education
The Discipline of Cleaning Ladies
Never Mind

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!