UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2004-06-20 - 8:26 p.m.

GONE
She�s been gone only a day and she�s been gone before but it seems different this time. Before, she went away for a short time and then she came back. She�ll come back this time too but it will take much longer and then, I suspect, we will be but a way station for her last year of high school. Day is in mourning. Even her room doesn�t look like her room and Mr. Philately is already making plans for how he will use it. The room looking odd is my fault. It looks odd because we can see the floor and the tops of her desk and dresser. I insisted that she straighten up because one of my summer projects will be to deep clean her carpet. Mr. Philately insisted she clean up her desk so that he can use it. Whatever the reasons, the room has not looked this good since we first re-decorated it. Earlier tonight I caught Day in there. The bed was completely stripped so that I could wash all the bedding but Day was on the bed anyway. She was crying and writing. I later saw a letter on the table addressed to Kat. I just hope that Kat writes back. For all her love of writing, she hates writing letters and is a terrible correspondent. I was glad that we decided to drive her all the way to Eagle River, approximately 4� to 5 hours away. First, the area is beautiful, with pine woods and lakes and rivers all over. The cheap motel we stayed at gave us a room with a lakeside view. We ate breakfast this morning on the patio overlooking the lake. Second, the feeling there was warm. The director and assistant director came over to meet us and actually talked to Mr. Philately, Day, and me (unlike the camp director of the arts camp Kat once went to.) Kat was arriving a little later than much of the staff because her school gets out later but the assistant director took time to settle her in. Tomorrow Kat will be seventeen. Today she is gone and I expect that this house will never be her home again in quite the same way. She�s gone.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!