UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-11-21 - 8:25 p.m.

SHORT

Some people are diminutive. Others are tiny or petite. I�m just short. Even for a short person, I have short little legs. Rarely can I purchase a pair of pants that doesn�t require cutting several inches off the bottom. Perhaps I�m not more of a shopper because I hate hemming.

This past week, I got lucky and found my pants. They were in a petite size, which is no surprise. But even petite pants usually need hemming so they don�t drag on the ground. This pair didn�t. It was a �petite short.� That�s right. They make petite shorts, petite regulars, and petite longs but I never knew it before. Maybe they don�t. Maybe only one company does. But I lucked out and found the right company with jeans on sale at the right price.

What will they think of next? I searched and searched but the store did not have petite short shirts for women like me with short little arms. The blouse with the bell sleeves that I loved still won�t fit me and still can�t be shortened without doing it violence. The cute blue suit jacket requires a lot of work on the sleeves or paying a tailor.

I also could use short shoes. Well, not literally, but figuratively. Finding shoes that fit is a chore in this state. These people have big feet. I can find everyday shoes because I can wear children�s shoes for every day. I have a lot of trouble finding dress shoes for work. They�re all too big.

All this trouble could be a good thing though. When you can�t find things to buy, you�re still short. But at least you�re not a dollar short.

LAST YEAR: Charades, Anyone?

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Culturally Deprived
A Very Strange Feeling (by Kat)
Gloried
Whole Word
Secrets
The Art of the Possible

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!