UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-12-21 - 9:02 a.m.

PLANKTON SKYWALKER

The skywalks are back, just in time for winter. Actually, well past the time for winter. Winter has been so dilatory that some of the daffodils have given up on it and moved right into spring. Those daffodils may be in for a rude awakening when winter finally gets here. For all I know, the winter may decide to stay for its usual length of time and then last right through May. We�ve had May snowstorms before.

But I digress. The skywalks are back. When Marshall Fields pulled out of our downtown mall and the building was sold, remodeling began and the skywalks closed. I could no longer go to the building right next door and then walk indoors to the mall for lunch or a quick errand. Once I�m out in the wind tunnel that the river creates, I figure that there are better places to eat than the mall.

More important, my car is parked at the mall. I�m a monthly parker. With the skywalk open, I�m back in cushyville. When it pours, I can get to my office without needing a dryer when I get there. When it snows, I don�t have to slip-slide my way over the metal deck of the bridge that rises up over the river to let boats come through.

I�m delighted. I celebrated by doing my patriotic duty and stopping at the bookstore. I ate Japanese fast food instead of a Subway sandwich. I even visited Sam Goody�s and picked up a gift certificate. And the mall needed me. In a fast year, this downtown mall is slow. In a slow year, it�s glacial, even this week.

Plankton Skywalker has returned�and the force is with me.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!