UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-08-22 - 8:23 p.m.

SO BIG

If ninety percent of life is just showing up, I was doing reasonably well today. I could get there. I just couldn�t say anything when I arrived. Okay, that�s not literally true. I could say things but most people could not hear me. Because laryngitis has just about silenced me, I normally would turn to typing. But typing today is more of a chore too. I have one virus in my body and another trying to come into my computer.

I remember the days when my children were very little. Someone--from Mr. Philately�s family if I recall�taught them to throw up their hands when asked, �How big are you?� and, as they threw up their hands, the adult would chortle, �SOOOOO big!� Day-Hay, who was not much of a performer on command, rarely cooperated but Kat really got into it. Kat�the child who never missed an opportunity to perform in her life---was so into it that it threatened to unbalance her, which was not that unusual because a good wind tended to upset her balance. After all, she was the child who cracked her head on the cement patio trying to catch a ball as she threw her hands up and her body backward.

Watching the e-mail carefully today was something like watching Kat�s �SOOO big!� The attack seems as enthusiastic as her performance. It keeps coming and coming, just waiting for some sort of applause. Like her performance, it also has an edge of danger. Will it slip in and unbalance the computer? Will the computer �all fall down?� Will it cause other people�s computers to �all fall down?�

But a computer virus is not a child�s parlor trick. It�s one more thing that makes life feel out of control. It�s one more thing that does a lot of damage and, at best, I may be able to defend my own. Yelling and screaming won�t help�and I can�t even talk anyway. Typing a lot won�t help.

How big a pain is this thing? SOOO BIG!

LAST YEAR: no entry

TWO YEARS AGO: on vacation in Detroit


IN CASE YOU MISSED THEM:
Coming to That Confusion
What Price Glory?
Who IS She?
The Minyan Snatcher
You�ve Come a Long Way, Boys

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!