UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-05-23 - 6:32 a.m.

THE END OF THE STORY

When I write day after day and live life in between, it�s easy to forget that sometimes I need to tell the end of the story. I know when things are left hanging because, well, this is real life and real life is sometimes hanging. I know when things are left hanging because I never explained what happened. It�s not that I intend to torture you. It�s just that sometimes I forget what I�ve said before.

You really can�t expect much more. (Well, actually, you can expect more but you�ll be disappointed.) I don�t do a whole lot better in real life. I�ve been known to tell Kat things twice and Day-Hay not at all or vice versa. At least, unlike my mother-in-law, I�ve never taken it so far that I�ve moved and not told one of my children where I�ve gone.

Today, I�ll try to resolve the stories I�ve left in the middle, at least the ones I remember leaving in the middle. If I�ve missed one, please let me know. If I�m taking the time to tidy up, I�ll like to know the job is done. So, just to get things straight so I can move on and write about other unresolved situations:

  • My grandniece. My grandniece is back at home, stitches all healed from surgery, and running around like nothing ever happened. She�s still on Dilantin due to fear of seizures but if she continues to do this well the doctors will try weaning her off of it in August. As for learning disabilities and such, well, we�ll just have to stay tuned for the next few years and see.

  • My scleritis. My eye is better, thank you, at least for the moment. I�ve been warned that this type of problem tends to return over and over but there�s not much I can do about it so I�m not going to spend my time anxiously peering at my eye in the mirror.

  • Girl scouts. The end of the year is almost here and we will bridge to Cadettes in two weeks. Tomorrow I�ll see who plans on coming back and where we are. To quote an obnoxious song by Shari Lewis, �This is the problem that never ends. It just goes on and on, my friend....�

  • The no-longer-missing flute. The flute has reappeared as mysteriously as it disappeared but only after it was reported stolen and the police made a few inquires. Two days later, after we had paid it off with the rental company, it appeared in an odd place in the band room which the teacher, Danielle, and I had already searched. I have no idea whether some kid carried it off by accident or suddenly thought better of snatching it. I do know that whoever it was waited until after I took all the teasing from the police officer about public defender and reporting a crime. We still need to take back the rental replacement flute but now Day-Hay owns her flute free and clear.

  • Athlete�s foot. Improving but barely worth writing about the first time let alone now. Thanks, Doug for the suggestions.

So now that you�re all updated, don�t you feel in the know?

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!