UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-12-07 - 8:55 p.m.

WEARING SUITS PROUDLY

Today two people insisted that I was overdressed. I blew them off. I didn�t care. I don�t pay huge amounts of attention to how others dress so I�m not very sorry if my dressing well provokes a reaction. I know that I am a little more formal about business attire than most people in my office and most other criminal defense lawyers. But I have a radical notion. I believe that if you are a lawyer then there are times you should dress like a lawyer. Truth in advertising and all that.

I spoke on a panel at a seminar today. No one complained at the men in suits that they were overdressed. Admittedly, most of the suits they wore were a little tacky or cheap looking. Still, a few were natty dressers. I was dressed well in a silky red blouse and in a black sweater-suit. The suit is comfortable and I inherited it from my grandmother who was a sharp dresser. Yes, I was wearing pantihose and (low) heels.

Just because I work for clients who cannot pay for a lawyer doesn�t mean that my clients are not entitled to the full show and to the illusion that they have a �real lawyer.� Just because the majority of the group to whom I was speaking views themselves as rabble-rousers rather than part of a more corporate world in which women dress professionally and nicely doesn�t mean that I have to be a sheep and follow.

Most, but not all, of my good professional wardrobe comes from resale shops, my sewing machine, or my grandmother�s closet. I�ve probably spent less on my �fancy� wardrobe than those dressed in jeans, polo shirts, and sweaters. It�s not about the money. It�s about the image and how projecting it makes me feel.

I grew up in a more formal place and in a corporate world. I can handle casual Fridays but I hate not being able to tell Fridays from the rest of the week. Wearing work clothes to work allows me to make a clear distinction between work and home.

I am a lawyer and I�m not ashamed of it. I won�t pretend to be someone I�m not. So I�ll continue to wear the suits�proudly.

LAST YEAR: Plans

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Priorities
Along for the Ride
Junkyard
Slip Sliding Away
Just Another Manic Monday

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!