UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-03-01 - 7:54 a.m.

TAKING SNOW PERSONALLY

Today is the beginning of meteorological spring and we are bracing for our first real blast of winter. If past experience had not taught me that meteorological spring had no real relationship to spring here in Wisconsin, I�d be seriously disappointed. As it is, I�m taking it personally. If we really get the 6-10 inches of snow predicted for tonight with an additional 3-4 inches tomorrow, putting up political yard signs on Sunday will be a major challenge. Just what I need: another potential sign that I was never meant to be a candidate for office.

The rational me says that taking this potential snowstorm personally is ridiculous and that it is hubris. The emotional me does not care. A heavy storm on a weekday can result in time out of time. A heavy storm on a weekend is just a nuisance. I�m irritated. The rational me says that it is still winter and, in a normal winter, we�d have a lot of days like the one that supposedly is coming. The rational me says that it works much better to kick children out into the snow than out into the cold but dry and windy. I�m not listening much to the rational me this morning.

Listening to myself, I�d think I�d become one of those cold-blooded Texans (Hi, Maxiegirl!) or gone soft like the Arizonans (Hi, Mom and Dad!). One would think I�d become a child, whining and sniveling when any little thing doesn�t go my way. Obviously, it�s time for a pep talk.

Snow is on the way. Hooray! We need snow to help my beloved Lake Michigan. Most of the time, I don�t really mind shoveling snow. I like the physical activity, particularly if Kat joins me (although I am not at all sure she will have the time this weekend.) The first day of snow is pretty, with glistening trees and large white expanses. Better snow now than after the trees bud. Our northern trees are fairly well designed to deal with snow before they leaf out.

See? I am capable of an attitude adjustment. I think I�ll still take the snow personally but I�ll take it differently. I�m about to embark on a personal wonderland. Isn�t that wonderful?

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!