UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-03-10 - 5:19 p.m.

TALKING CARS

When we have been purchasing cars together, my husband occasionally has dismissed an identified possible purchase by saying, �It doesn�t speak to me.� I�ve always wondered what he expected the car to say. Cars don�t talk. They either run or don�t run. They either are good buys or, like the lemon of a Reliant we had, are terrible buys. But they don�t talk. Or so I thought until this morning.

This morning, the Corolla spoke to me. The Corolla and I found ourselves on a business trip at a Super 8 in Stanley, Wisconsin. We were to visit the new Stanley Correctional Institution where I have some clients. Because Stanley is approximately a five-hour drive from here (almost six if you count what happened after I missed the turn-off in Wausau), we went up together last night.

The occasion for the speech was weather-related. It was cold this morning. It was really cold. In Stanley, the temperature was -8 or -9 degrees Fahrenheit. I�ve been in colder weather but not with this Corolla. The Corolla that preceded this Corolla had been, but that car�s reaction to this type of cold was well known. Unless someone hung a light bulb under the hood when the weather was below zero, the old Corolla did not start. It opted out of such weather.

So, I had some trepidation when I approached the car. A quick discussion at the hotel desk alerted me that one of the services of the hotel was the use of a charger for just such weather but I really did not want to miss my meetings waiting for a good charge. I hoped. I prayed. And then I opened the car and sat down. I pushed the gas pedal to the floor once as the manual recommended and I turned the key.

�I don�t wanna.....I don�t wanna.....I don�t wanna....I don�t wanna,� the Corolla wheezed. I waited patiently for a minute or so and tried again. �I don�t wanna.....I don�t wanna.....I don�t wanna....I don�t wanna.� I waited again, being careful not to flood it. I considered getting the charger but I didn�t move yet. I made a final try

�I don�t wanna.....I don�t wanna.....I don�t wanna....I don�t wanna....IF YOU INSIST.�

Okay, so maybe the Corolla whines but at least it follows directions. That�s more than I can say for my kids some days.

LAST YEAR: One Pipe at a Time

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Helping with Mother
Pity My Children
The Return
Disaster Date
A Wonder Like That

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!