UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-12-19 - 6:12 a.m.

Sometimes more so than others, it�s a good thing Mr. Philately thinks I�m cute.

THAT�S THE TICKET

I�ve been asked what I want to do for my anniversary this year. The question may have been Mr. Philately�s gentle reminder not only that I have an anniversary this year but that my anniversary is at the end of the month. He�ll have to do better than that though if he wants me to know what day. You see, I�m not very good at special days or at remembering the dates of those special days. I�ve been told that�s a guy thing. So why can�t I manage to remember?

It�s not exactly that I�m not romantic although I�m not very romantic. I will admit that given my choice between a silky teddy and a ratty old flannel nightgown, I�ll pick the ratty nightgown. Luckily, Mr. Philately would too. I will admit that I never ask for diamond jewelry. (I don�t even have a diamond engagement ring.) I prefer gifts such as a good dictionary or a decent camping knife. But I�ve bought my husband red roses�at least a few times.

I don�t remember birthdays very well either. I remember the kids� birthdays fairly well but probably because they don�t let me forget. Day-Hay reminds me daily for weeks in advance. Kat sneaks it into conversations so I get plenty of warning. Perhaps it�s that my birthday has never been much of a big deal. We were often on vacation during my birthday because it is so close to July 4th. My birthday tradition is not a big party, a fancy cake, or lots of candles. Most years, I get a twinkie and a candle in a Super 8 or such.

One year, I managed to thrill Mr. Philately by making a fancy dinner on our anniversary. The kids were young and things had been hectic but I cooked some of his favorites. There was only one problem. I just did it. I really didn�t remember it was our anniversary. I can�t remember but I suspect I blew it later when I stupidly failed to take the credit I didn�t deserve for remembering us on our special day.

This year, though, my kids are old enough that I don�t need a sitter to do something. I need to come up with something special that requires getting tickets. I could get the tickets and write the event on the calendar. I won�t write �anniversary� on the calendar because that would be too obvious. I�ll just stick the tickets in an envelope and write �anniversary� on the envelope for a more subtle reminder. If I�m really smart, I�ll think to take the tickets out that day and give them to Mr. Philately without giving him the envelope.

Yeah, tickets in an envelope. That�s the ticket! Now, if I can just keep Mr. Philately from reading this entry....

________

Good morning, love. No, I'm not doing anything in particular. (Looking around. Hiding entry.)

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!