UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-12-29 - 7:32 p.m.

THE VISION

If the bedrooms in my house had been allocated on a need-for-space basis, Day-Hay would have the bigger room. Unfortunately for her, the allocation of bedrooms ended up being happenstance. When she was born, the plan was to have her crib in the small room and then, once she was no longer waking at night, we planned to move her into Kat�s room. The plan was that the girls would share a room for sleeping and that we would have an extra room for odds and ends of life. Day-Hay never exactly started sleeping through the night so we scratched that plan, leaving Kat with a room big enough for two and Day-Hay with a much smaller room.

Kat already has been told that Day-Hay gets the bigger room when Kat leaves for college. I doubt she really likes the idea of losing her room when she leaves but I gave up having any room of my own at all and she knows it so I doubt I�ll hear much complaint. In any event, it doesn�t matter. The room will be Day-Hay�s. But in the meantime, Day-Hay, my dancer, has been seeking more space---and she has a vision.

Today she launched her plan with a major clean-up of her room and closet. She moved her two cubbies into the closet and plans to empty the contents of her dresser into her closet in some fashion. She then plans on removing the dresser and having just a bed, a tower of shelves, and a desk. She would like to add bolsters to turn her bed into a daybed and have a place to �hang out.�

Her first obstacle was the massive dresser in her room. Kat�s furniture and Day-Hay�s furniture matches. Kat could take the big dresser but she won�t. Taking the big dresser would require rearranging drawers. More uncomfortably for Kat, it would require change. If necessary, I may force the issue but it probably won�t be necessary. After all, Kat has the big room and has the space. Asking her to make this sacrifice wouldn�t be asking too much.

But instead, I may find the room for the dresser by moving the cheap file cabinet and desktop in my �desk� closet. If it were left up to me, I would just move the dresser to the basement but Mr. Philately is still scarred by the flooding we have endured and would not be willing to put a good dresser down there. While I believe in caring for goods, I also believe in not letting them dictate my life. If the only way to give Day-Hay the space she needs were to risk flood damage of the dresser, I�d do it. But Day-Hay and I look at objects differently than Mr. Philately does and I think I can please both of them.

For a while, Mr. Philately seemed to want to convince Day-Hay that she needed a dresser and that cubbies would not work but he has moved off of that position. I think he has caught her vision now and has decided to let her go. I did convince her that she may need to wait a few days until Mr. Philately�s fingers heal before he is willing to move furniture around. Now that she feels confident that we will let her achieve her vision, she can be patient.

For some people, having visions means attempting to move mountains. For Day-Hay, moving massive dressers will suffice.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!