UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-03-13 - 9:55 p.m.

WAITING TIME

After an entire afternoon spent at the Division of Motor Vehicles, Kat has her learner�s permit. The amazing thing is not that Kat has her learner�s permit. I knew that event was coming and was mentally steeled for it. The amazing thing is that I did not have to stand in line. I didn�t put in the waiting time.

There was a line, of course. There�s always a line. It�s not one of those lines where everyone stands around and you know its long. It�s one of those deceptive lines. It�s a take-a-number line. You see that the sign says something such as �Serving Number 1" and realize that the number in your hand says 1003. You sit, you wait, you watch, and, if you�re lucky, the numbers change to 2, 3, 4, and 5 before the computer goes down and nothing happens. If you�re really lucky, by the time to get to 501, 502, and 503, some people have begun to give up and have left. Others start unrolling their sleeping bags and hoping the numbers don�t start over the next morning.

No, there was a line. I just wasn�t in it. Mr. Philately was. The man probably has accumulated all the brownie points he�ll need to get through the next two weeks�although I�m smart enough not to tell him that yet. I suppose posting such information is a mistake but living dangerously can be so...exhilarating. Besides, I can always tell him I was exaggerating. Don�t most writers exaggerate for the sake of a good story?

But Kat has her permit and I did not have to go to the Division of Motor Vehicles. She showed me the card and told me about the cool machine that scans her signature. I listened and admired and tried hard not to remind her that I�d gotten a license there before.

As for Mr. Philately, he got practice waiting in line at the DMV�and he�ll need it. He needs to renew his license this July. If he�d thought about it today, he have sat in line once for both his license and Kat�s permit. But he didn�t think about it.

And so, in honor of his birthday, he�ll get to spend another three hours or so at the DMV. Isn�t that a nifty present?

LAST YEAR: Experiencing Reality Difficulties

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Being My Parents
Talking Cars
Helping with Mother
Pity My Children
The Return

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!