UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
02/06/2005 - 7:09 p.m.

�TWAS A WARM NIGHT

�Twas a warm night in February,
And all through the house,
Lived dedicated chocoholics,
Including the mouse�

Yes, it�s sad but true. I�m Plankton and I�m a chocoholic. (Just look at my hips. It shows.) Day is a chocoholic. In some moods, even Kat and Mr. Philately are chocoholics. We have our own regular C(NQ)A (Chocoholics Not Quite Anonymous Chapter) that meets regularly over, you guessed it, hot chocolate. And now it seems we should invite another chocoholic to our meetings: the mouse who moved in from the cold.

We periodically have mouse problems in this house. The mice move in. They nibble at some of our crackers or some such. We used to try and trap them humanely and then we got real about it. So now we kill them and dispose of the bodies. Other mice move back in anyway. And so it goes�

But the most recent mouse occupant of the house has been the most unwelcome. This mouse made itself known in the most unwelcome way. This mouse consumed the Nestle�s Quik. This mouse had a feast in the chocolate. This mouse, while it did not really treat itself to the good stuff, served notice that if we put any of the good stuff in its path, it would eat it. I�ll bet it would devour chocolate chips if given half a chance.

So we have set out the traps again but this time I am very wary. This mouse has an addiction. Now that we moved the chocolate, this mouse could be crazed. This mouse could come after us with abandon as this mouse might just feel it has nothing to lose.

This time it�s war. This time it�s about protecting the chocolate. This time I will not rest easy until

�Tis a dark night in February
And all through the house,
Live chocoholics who have
Killed a mouse�

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!