UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2004-05-21 - 3:22 p.m.

FLASH! BOOM! WHIMPER!

I have feared electrical storms for as long as I can remember. The thunder draws my attention---my full attention�but I do not fear the thunder. Thunder is just noise. I fear the lightening.

One of the central stories from my childhood is that Andy and his friend sought refuge from a storm under a tree. Lightening hit the tree. Andy was hospitalized but survived. His friend didn�t. I do not remember when this story occurred. I may not even be remembering the story correctly. I barely remember Andy, a slightly older cousin whom I saw only rarely even though he lived in the same town. But every storm the voice in my head says, �Lightening killed Andy�s friend.�

As an adult, I try to hide my fears, especially when children are around. I must do a reasonably good acting job because only in recent years have my teenaged children figured it out. I can�t remember whether I told them or whether Mr. Philately ratted me out but I remember that they had to be told. I was proud of that. Being an adult does not mean not having fears. It means controlling them.

But today was a bit much. I was driving from Milwaukee to Portage when the sky went black. It was after 8 a.m. but it could have been midnight based upon the light. It bucketed rain. Buckets and buckets came down. I slowed down and was about to pull off the highway when it let up.

The sky clearer just a bit. The rains still came but slower and with less force. I should have been reassured. I was reassured and began to relax just a little. Then there was the oddest sensation. I have heard people say that the air tingled. I did not understand until this morning. For just an instant, barely long enough to think �weird,� it tingled.

And then, a flash, a boom, and the top of a tree 50 to 100 yards away exploded. Luckily no one else was near me. I swerved. I struggled for control of the car. I regained control---at least of the car. I considered stopping and pulling off the road but I couldn�t do it. I had to drive out of the storm. I was driven to drive out of the storm. And I did.

Once clear of the storm, I thought of calling Mr. Philately for reassurance but he probably was on his way to work and the storm was heading his direction. I was afraid that he might answer and that would not be safe. I was afraid he would not answer and that would not be reassuring. I like to think he�s there. I don�t like to know that he�s not. I thought of calling a friend and then I thought of what I would say. Sympathy would undo me and I had to keep driving to my appointment.

So the moment passed---until the next storm which will be tonight or tomorrow.

Flash! Boom! Whimper!

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!