UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-07-03 - 10:23 a.m.

THE ENTRY IN WHICH I WHINE A LOT

One of the problems with being an early riser is that some days seem like losers before 10:00 a.m. While no matter what time I get up, morning is a difficult time for me, I don�t worry all that much when the day seems bleak at first. Many a day seems bleak for the first hour or so and turns out to be a perfectly good day. But by 10:00 a.m., my day has had four hours in it already. It�s had plenty of time to establish itself and today seems to want to be a doozy.

The day actually started fairly well. The birthday package my parents sent me has been sitting on my headboard taunting me for weeks (although it hasn�t taunted me nearly as much as my husband would have if I had been dishonorable and opened it early.) Today is my birthday so I ended my suffering. Immediately after breakfast I opened the package. It was a lovely purple top. I like purple. I like the top.

By then, Mr. Philately was awake and came out to the kitchen. The poor man has a cold. I�d be a better person if my first thought had not been �oh, dear, I�ll catch it by my birthday present weekend and won�t be able to enjoy it.� But I�m not a better person. We are supposed to go to Spring Green, Wisconsin this weekend to see a Shakespearean play on Friday night and to canoe on Saturday. I�ve been looking forward to this weekend for weeks, ever since I planned it as the perfect present from Mr. Philately. I just hope we are both feeling well enough to do all the activities.

Then I took my mean-spirited self to work and the problems began. The problems are just coming out of the woodwork this morning. First, a case I thought was all settled except for the judge�s signature on an order is not all settled. We�re going to be going to a hearing. The good news is that we will have a good judge for the hearing. The bad news is that I have to deal with one of the most cranky and unpredictable judges next Monday morning as I try to get an order to produce my client signed. Getting an order to produce signed in such circumstances usually is routine. With this judge, routine things have a habit of getting difficult.

Then Mr. Philately made a serious error in judgment. He called to tell me that parking the car over by his office after my lunch meeting is likely to be difficult because parking is getting bad there. I have to park the van there so we can watch fireworks tonight and I have to do it later because I have a lunch meeting in a place not reachable by bus. I don�t know why he gave me this information because there is nothing I can do about it but stew. He usually knows me better than that. Perhaps his cold has caused stupidity as one of its symptoms.

One of my mental health clients, a schizophrenic who is committed solely for the purpose of medication, is getting antsy. He wants a new life. He wants to leave the state. He wants, he wants, he wants, and it is taking all my patience to answer his calls gently over and over and over. I doubt I�m going to get much done this morning other than his calls.

The worst thing about today is that I obviously am whining. I hate whining---sometimes even when it�s mine---not that you can prove it from this whiny entry. Oh, well, looking on the bright side, the heat is supposed to break today---which may bring thunderstorms that obliterate the fireworks. Hmmm, I guess it�s not a look on the bright side day. I think I�ll just find a hole to hide in until I�m fit to be with.

If I cover my ears do you think I�ll manage not to hear my own whining?

LAST YEAR: Bushed

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!