UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-09-22 - 9:57 p.m.

WIDER OPPORTUNITIES

When a girl scout becomes a Cadette at seventh grade or so, she becomes eligible to apply for wider opportunities. A wider opportunity is a girl scout program offered nationally by various Girl Scout councils, the national organiation, Outward Bound, and assorted Girl Guide associations. Getting into a wider opportunity is very competitive and the application process arduous. A girl must get references and fill out an application that includes one long essay and two very short essays. A girl also must go through an interview. In short, a girl really must sell herself.

Day-Hay has fallen in love with the prospect of attending a wider opportunity with a primary focus on web design. With all the business-like attitude she can muster (and she can muster plenty when she sets her mind on it), she has identified the people who know her computer abilities and know her well enough to write recommendations. She figured out that the best recommendation would come from the computer paraprofessional whom she often helps and who is very active in girl scouts herself.

I expected her to have a hard time tackling the essay but it looks like I�ll be wrong. Day-Hay is insecure about her writing but she was born to sell things. I should not have worried that the child who could identify the mothers of all the boys in her class as prime prospects for selling girl scout cookies would fall apart when she has to write an essay selling herself. While the essay is not yet complete, she has a wonderfully expressive start and she�s more open to suggestions than usual.

My shy daughter also feels more confident about the interview (which won�t be until November) than I would have thought. She plans to go in with a portfolio of her computer designs. She is excited enough that she believes she can handle any questions that they throw at her. I do hope I can convince her to do a practice interview or two but I think I�ll be able to do that.

I delight in the take-charge, can-do Day-Hay. I just hope that the decision-makers do too. Keep your fingers crossed that, in a few months, I will be writing about Day-Hay�s chance at a wider opportunity.

LAST YEAR: Heading for Sunshine

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Zero Sum Winning
The Message
Life Among the Liliputians
Treasure
Dry Run

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!