UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-04-16 - 6:15 a.m.

I meant to post this entry last night. It was written yesterday. But, for the second night in a row, I had a school board meeting that went past 10:00. I�m going to be lucky to stay awake for the Passover seder tonight. (And in other breaking news, Day-Hay�s science fair project took a first place in the �process� category.)

BEING A WIMP

Mr. Philately and I started dating on a day like this one. True, it wasn�t April then. It was March (although with my usual ability to remember dates operating, I have no idea what the date was except that it was late in the month.) It was unseasonably warm and wonderfully clear. If Mr. Philately had not had a an important hearing this afternoon, I would have asked him to do today what he asked me to do then: play hooky.

My first date with Mr. Philately may have been the first time I played hooky. I was coming back from class to our law school dorm when I ran into him. I was enjoying the weather but I was plugging along. I was planning on switching books and going to my afternoon class, whichever first year law class it was. But he interrupted. He wanted to seize the day. He suggested that most romantic of cheap New York dates for a beautiful day. So we went on the Staten Island ferry, spent all day on Staten Island, and rode the ferry back home..

Even though Mr. Philately was unavailable, I was drawn to water so I walked to the lake on my lunch hour and walked along the bluff above it. I stood and looked at the Calatrava addition to the Art Museum soaring in white above the lake. I stared off into the horizon, contemplating the blue-green of the lake where it met the shore, the deeper blue of the lake farther out, and the clear light blue of the sky. I also looked across the park on the bluff down to where Mr. Philately�s office is and wished I could pull him out with me but I knew he wasn�t there.

Normally, I dislike the heat. As is true with many people with multiple sclerosis, I do not function as well in heat as I do in cooler weather. My ideal weather is between 65 and 75 degrees, warm enough but not hot. But today was not a day to quibble. I was not uncomfortable and it was not humid. I thought about staying and not going back.

But, when you are basically a rule-follower like I am, hooky requires a partner-in-crime. Hooky requires inspiration and shared fun. Hooky requires Mr. Philately�s spirit of adventure. It would have been a wonderful way to celebrate coming together.

But he wasn�t available so I walked back to my office, my clients, and my responsibility. I�m such a wimp.

LAST YEAR: I�m Doomed

A Man With Good Tools
Mom as an Immaturity Factor
Maintaining Success
Questions, Questions
Still Waiting

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!