UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-06-08 - 4:53 p.m.

THE WORMS CRAWL IN

I don�t like worms in the garden but I can live with them. I dislike the way they squirm out onto my driveway in the rain and then die. I know that they are good for the soil and environment and I�m sure that other worms think them handsome so I put up with them. I don�t even shudder or complain about them much. I just accept them as an annoyance of life.

But I can�t say the same for computer worms. In the first place, they really, really mess up a computer. I ought to know. I�ve been offline for the last two days while, with Mr. Philately�s help, I figured out what the problem was and what to do about it. I haven�t been able to send e-mail (and everyone who was in my address book better be very glad I don�t use Outlook.) I haven�t been able to receive e-mail. I haven�t been able to post.

And I�ve discovered that I am a true addict. I�ve looked at this computer longingly. I�ve wandered around my house. I�ve even started CLEANING when the computer wasn�t available, just to keep my hands off the computer. Now that�s desperate (although it has been nice to be rid of a few piles of paper and clutter.) I�ve been cranky, irritable, and frustrated. But I haven�t hit bottom. I�m not willing to change. I love my addiction too much.

Thank goodness I now am back up and running. The worms are still at the door but I�m better protected now. (Take that, you slimy thing trying to come in e-mail! I�m now on guard.)

But take it from me. Worms in the garden are one thing but worms in the computer have NO redeeming features.

Any one have a nice sharp virtual spade?

LAST YEAR (2 ENTRIES!): Pompous Circumstance, the Sequel and Tomorrow Finally Comes

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!