UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-02-08 - 10:15 p.m.

HAIR-CURLING

It�s a hair-curling experience, this technical/dress rehearsal for �Evita� week. Kat, the child who normally would not be caught dead in curls will make the sacrifice for theater. If the director wants curls, Kat will give her curls. But her hair is long and so dry in the winter that a curling iron effort seems doomed. Instead, I�ve just spent the evening putting her hair up in pin curls.

Most of the time, I barely remember that thirty years ago I put my long hair up in pin curls every night. My hair wasn�t really straight as style dictated it should be and it wasn�t really curly as style dictated it should. So, I decided to chart my own path and curled it, not so it was curly all over, but so it had curl at the bottom. Most people thought it curled itself.

Going to college killed the nightly curling. It wasn�t that I wanted a new style exactly. It�s that I didn�t want to have to worry if people dropped in after I was ready for bed. I was prepared to show off my pajamas and robe. But pin curls were too personal, even for the girls, in an era of �natural� looks. If I couldn�t look natural curling my hair, I�d just have to find a more natural style. The answer became shorter hair and blow-drying that took advantage of the wave.

My hair styles have come and gone since then but they�ve relied on those new basics: good cuts, a blow dryer, and a circular brush. I can�t see Mr. Philately believing it romantic to sleep with a woman in pin curls. I can�t see Mr. Philately believing it anything but a nuisance to sleep with a woman in pin curls. I remember how it felt once in a while when a bobby pin got loose and I rolled over it. I might be willing to endure a little pain for beauty. I doubt he would be willing to endure a little pain for my beauty, especially when he sees no reason for curls.

This week, though, threatens to be a return to the past. Unless a different decision is made at tomorrow night�s rehearsal, I will be doing pin curls every night. It just won�t be me in the pin curls. It will be Kat. It will be Kat who will suffer�although she�ll suffer for theater, not beauty. It will be Kat who will roll over on the loose bobby pins. It will be Kat who will have loose curls when all around her have straight hair.

But I�ll bet she�ll give it up long before college.

LAST YEAR: Looking for a Few Good Quotes

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Weather Watch
Far From the Home I Love
Columbia
Leveled
For Their Time

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!