UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-01-19 - 3:44 p.m.

MAKING A LIST

Mr. Philately makes lists. I make lists. Years ago, I believed this similarity reflected a similar outlook on life. But it doesn�t. The lists are deceptive.

How different could lists be? Both of us list what needs to be done. Mr. Philately makes a list so he remembers what needs to be done. But I make lists purely to show progress. Mr. Philately has to list everything he needs to do or some important detail might not get done. I usually can remember what I need to do. Besides, if I listed items solely to remember them, my list would be overwhelming. No, I make lists solely for the satisfaction of crossing items off.

This difference in list-making philosophy affects how we approach our lists. Mr. Philately makes his list and checks it twice. My list is haphazard Occasionally, he has picked up my list and assumed something approaching completeness. He�s been wrong. It�s nowhere near complete. Mr. Philately needs his list. If he loses his list, he is lost. I don�t need mine. I just like it. If I lost my list, I still know what I need to do and usually can re-create it. He returns lists to me and cannot figure out why I don�t seem to care deeply.

We use our lists differently too. Mr. Philately makes his list and methodically takes care of the items on it. I look for the fastest one first so that I have some sense of progress. Because the order of the list and the list itself have nothing to do with importance of items, the order does not matter. The part that matters is the line through a few of the items.

Luckily, both of us have things we do in our lives that never end up on either list. I figure it would be a sign of marital trouble if I ever started listing �doing things together.� If I did, it would be because I wanted to yell, �next!� when I was done. On the other hand, having such a notation on Mr. Philately�s list would be a mixed blessing. It would happen when he could not remember us without a little help. Yet, it would mean that he still wanted to remember us.

Different though our lists are, one thing is clear. Neither of us better be on the other�s list.

LAST YEAR: Puppy Dogs

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Mellowing
Dreaming in Trains
Sorry
Where�s the Snow?
Everything�s Going My Way

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!