UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2004-04-01 - 8:58 p.m.

WE�RE NUMBER �2�

In this country, we spend a lot of time yelling, �We�re number one!� We yell it at sporting events, we yell it at other competitions, and we yell it whether it is true or not. No one wants to be Avis anymore, even if Avis did try harder. But some of the best things are not top scores. Sometimes, a lower score is sweeter than an easy win.

Day-Hay plays the flute. Sometimes we even hear her play the flute and I really enjoy those moments. Over the years, her interest has waned a bit and she rarely practices so I was surprised when she told me that she wanted to tackle three different pieces for the local Solo and Ensemble music teachers critique. Her band teacher only required one piece. She was going to do a flute choir piece, a double-duet, and a solo. She even chose an ambitious solo for her. She was going to do a �B� piece. �B� is the second highest level of piece.

She diligently practiced her solo. It was a challenge but it was coming. It was six weeks to Solo and Ensemble. It was five weeks to Solo and Ensemble. It was four weeks and then three weeks. And then it happened. Her band teacher realized that he had given her a non-regulation piece. Her piece was the one right after the pages of acceptable pieces. She would have to pull out of a solo or she would have to start over.

I would have pulled out. After all, she had two other pieces. She played only in a group last year. It would have been sufficient to play only in groups this year. But it was not sufficient for her. So she began to tackle the new piece. But it contained a lot of high notes and it had a tricky rhythm. It looked like all was lost.

I asked a friend who plays the flute for the name of a teacher. I figured that maybe if I got Day-Hay a private lesson or two, the lesson would jumpstart the piece and maybe, just maybe, it would be okay. Maybe she could do a reasonable job and get a 3, the third highest score. The friend offered to give Day-Hay the lessons (which was amazing because she has four active sons and her husband just had a stroke this fall.) I told Day-Hay that she would have to keep up her part of the bargain and practice, practice, practice.

And practice she did. I heard that flute every day. I heard her do the exercises that A. gave her to build her upper register. I heard her work on the timing. I heard her go over phrases and I heard her improve. Still, I held my breath. A 1 on the piece seemed out of range but maybe, just maybe, she could get her 2.

Mr. Philately took her over to the high school where Solo and Ensemble was this year. Luckily for Day-Hay, her solo was first and was in the morning. She warmed up and she went in---and she did well.

She got her 2. She�s number two�and how sweet it was.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!