UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-08-23 - 5:14 p.m.

BLINK OF AN EYE

Everything can change in a blink of an eye. We all know it. Some of us spend years closing our eyes tight hoping that if we don�t blink, it won�t change. Some of us whistle loudly every time someone suggests the possibility of change in the blink of an eye. Some of us experience more of it than others. My poor children, and even more my niece and nephew, sure have had enough blink of an eye to last a lifetime.

The blink of an eye. One minute, my brother-in-law, Maxiegirl�s husband, is playing tennis. The next he is dead of a massive heart attack, leaving all of us, but especially Brother, age five, and Sister, age nine, behind. Leaving the rest of us to make arrangements, make telephone calls, wash laundry, and grieve.

The blink of an eye. This morning, my mother and I were joking that she had not heard from my sister in a day or two so the adjustment of her children to the school year must be going more smoothly. We didn�t joke long and we didn�t talk long because I am still croaking out my words (and even more so now with the effects of crying on top of the virus.) We were speaking of life�s small concerns�but they seemed big enough then. Now, they seem like nothing.

The blink of an eye�and small tears leaking through.

The blink of an eye.

LAST YEAR: no entry

TWO YEARS AGO: Silence


IN CASE YOU MISSED THEM:
So Big
Coming to That Confusion
What Price Glory?
Who IS She?
The Minyan Snatcher

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!