UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-03-20 - 5:01 p.m.

A FINE THING

Mr. Philately has a somewhat meticulous nature. As one who focuses on the general pattern more than on the details, I occasionally explain that I am married to a man who believes the world will be safe from disaster if everyone eats their vegetables, wears a hat, and returns their library books on time. I�m joking, of course, but the man really does have a thing about overdue library books. Some librarian back in Iowa must have terrorized him, although he is loosening up a little bit in his older age.

Back when we were still newlyweds and I tried very hard not to upset him, his obsession with returning books on time cost us a lot of money. I tried to remember when my books were due. But, although I usually am a very organized person, I just couldn�t seem to give the library due date enough priority to avoid those library fines. I found myself hiding the fact that I had paid fines. When the secrets started feeling destructive, I stopped using the library and began buying paperback books. All that buying of books was expensive but it avoided the emotional costs of the return problem.

Eventually, I realized I was being foolish. I have my faults and, as faults go, my inability to return library books on time periodically is a very small one (at least to me.) Mr. Philately has overlooked other faults and I figured he could eventually learn to overlook this one. It still pains him when he finds overdue books but he has compromised. He rarely says anything. He just looks pained. Infrequently, he forgets to suffer in silence and I just explain that I am doing my bit to support the library through my fines.

I�ve always assumed, however, that my additional support of the library was voluntary support of the library. Yes, it�s true that once I return the books late I must pay fines. But for as long as I can remember, libraries have been free. Although the original libraries in this country were primarily subscription libraries, the first free public library supported by municipal tax dollars opened in Peterboro, New Hampshire in 1833 and there�s been no looking back. Free public libraries became many people�s passports to the world of knowledge and imagination.

But apparently the time has come to go back to the future. Access to all the good things (and the bad) on the internet does not come free. And now Wisconsin is contemplating fee for book check-out once more. Wisconsin is a state which usually boasts of its progressive tradition but, increasingly, it honors that tradition as dead history. It celebrates portraits of LaFollette and asks his ideas to remain in the fourth grade curriculum�if they must come out at all.

Like many states, Wisconsin has a large state deficit cause by great growth in state governments and tax cuts made with no spending cuts. (Forget 9/11. This deficit has been coming on for a long time and most people who understand the state budget knew it. Thank you, Tommy Thompson, for this fine legacy.) Instead of cutting state spending though, our governor has proposed cutting the revenue it shares with municipal and county government while limiting local governments ability to raise revenue through the only available mechanism: property tax.

How does this budget stuff relate to libraries? Well, now he and his friends are looking for ways to show local government that they care�and they�ve found a doozy. The Republicans in the Wisconsin Assembly are backing repeal of the free public library law. In other words, they are backing a fee-for-service bill for libraries. They are planning to allow libraries to charge fees for checking out books, pamphlets, and other material at the library. Once you accept that idea, it�s just a small step back to subscription libraries and, if you are not a subscriber, you won�t get services.

Mr. Philately and I have just found a library issue we can agree on. Keep the library free for responsible folk like him. As for me, well, if it would help, I could take out a lot of books this weekend.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!