UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
06/11/2005 - 8:18 a.m.

JUST KEEP MOVING

My current bumper-sticker philosophy is "Just keep moving." One of my children (and I can't remember which one or maybe I just did not slow down enough to look) suggested that I might use its corollary---those who do not keep up will be shot---but that's just plain silly. The dead stop moving. No, those who keep up will simply be bound hand and foot and dragged along by rope---and let that be a warning.

For reasons I have never understood, almost every end of the school year is hectic but this year is particularly so. There are always concerts, recitals, and programs. But this year we add awards ceremonies and doctor's appointments. (Most of the doctor's appointments are intended to deal with different medical issues with Kat before she goes off to college.) The way I am coping is to just put one chore in front of the other.

Then, of course, there are the obsessive chores that I've added to the schedule. Take, for example, the garden---please. (Sorry, Marn, but I do dislike gardening and I need you to come deal with my ever-so-small landscaping problems.) I have removed the rotting wooden edging and replaced it with red bullet brick, eighteen bricks at a time. Why eighteen bricks at a time? Well, experience has taught me that if I put even one more brick on the cart at the garden center, I cannot get the cart up the incline to where I pay for the bricks. I was able to put twenty on there the other day, thanks to a very nice, and very good-looking, young man on staff there but I've only seen him the one time (which is too bad because seeing him more often might improve my gardening attitude.) I have weeded thistles, added some petunias and a few hostas, and mulched (but I still need more mulch.) And why have I done this task? I have no idea but it seemed like I needed the beds to declare: See that huge, weedy bump in the lawn? It wouldn't happen if the wife were really in charge in this family.

But now I am on the downhill side. The dance recital is over and I have no more backstage duties and no more costumes to alter. We are down to one ceremony: graduation. I may tiptoe around a bit this weekend because of finals (Day's, because Kat only has two and one is gym.) Even work is cooperating and calming down a little.

So what will I do with my time this summer? Well, Kat would like a new quilt when she goes off to college, the doctor appointments continue, and, well, the house could use a really good cleaning.

Just keep moving? Actually, it's more like "don't know how to stop."

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!