UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-09-23 - 6:09 p.m.

HAVING NO LIFE

Kat complains that she has no life. She has a lot of boring classes with kids who are so grade conscious that they believe a single C on a quiz is the end of the world. She has a lot of homework that keeps her holed up in her room finding Spanish synonyms for a long list of Spanish verbs. She attends Sunday school in a large room with too many mean kids and a teacher who cannot keep order. She�s sure she has no life.

Kat also has a job working as a teacher�s aide on Sunday mornings after class and she loves it. But Kat has no life. She spends two evening hours four days a week and almost five hours on Saturday building sets and painting back drops. She comes home giggling over some gaffe, preferably not hers. But Kat has no life. Kat belongs to two youth groups and she attends events such as going out to dinner at an old speak-easy (without alcohol, of course) and to an improvisational comedy place. But Kat has no life.

Twice this week I have had boys just show up at my door, hoping for a chance to talk with my daughter. One of them bicycled a good five miles or so just for the opportunity. Another boy is bold enough to spend time accidentally meeting up with her at school but has not yet worked up his courage to show up at the house. A third boy called her clear from Chicago. But Kat has no life.

The next time I decide that I have no life, I want to have no life the way that Kat does.

LAST YEAR: Where Were All the Other Parents?

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Wider Opportunities
Zero Sum Winning
The Message
Life Among the Liliputians
Treasure

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!