UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-04-09 - 9:28 p.m.

QUESTIONS, QUESTIONS

Questions, questions. By the time children are teenagers, their mothers should have learned not to ask certain questions. Some mothers learn harder than others and I seem to be among them.

I never regret asking who someone is going with, where they are going, or when they will be home. I never regret asking who else may be there and what they intend to do. I rarely regret asking how the day was or whether anything funny or sad or whatever occurred. I rarely regret asking what the homework is even if I don�t necessarily get an accurate answer.

No, the questions I�m talking about are the unnecessary questions, the save-your-breath questions. The questions I�m talking about are rhetorical ones that get snappy comebacks. The questions I�m talking about are ones whose answers probably are irrelevant to life.

So why do I ask them? I just can�t seem to stop myself.

For example, I should have known better than to ask what the crayon was doing in Day-Hay�s bed. Both girls answered and I didn�t want to hear either answer. Day-Hay, in her best put-upon voice, said to ask Kat because only Kat had been using crayons in her room. Not having learned from the first response, I did ask Kat. �It�s napping,� she answered.

Then there was the little matter of the clothes on the floor. (Actually, the clothes were not little. They were medium-sized. They were Day-Hay sized�and there were a lot of them.) �What are we going to do about you having too many clothes on your floor?� I asked. Bad phrasing. Stupid phrasing. I should have said that the clothes were a problem but I didn�t. I asked that asinine question�and I got the answer that the question deserved. �Well,� suggested Day-Hay. �We can figure out how many are not �too much� and then I could throw the others down the chute.�

When the girls were little, one of the children�s programs (I think it was Sesame Street) used to repeat the phrase, �Asking questions is a good way to get information.� Not in this house. In this house, asking some questions is just likely to get you sass.

LAST YEAR: Randomly

Still Waiting
The Clutter That Ate the House
I Can See Clearly Now
Influence and Control
Day-Hay�s Bat Mitzvah Speech

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!