UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-04-07 - 8:20 p.m.

STILL WAITING

I look forward to daylight savings time. I like the longer evenings and after an entire winter of going to work in the dark and returning in the dark, I�m ready for light. Given my usual state of consciousness first thing in the morning, light in the morning is a waste. Give me evening light every time.

So, on Sunday, I cheerfully put up with the nuisances of the start of daylight savings time. I stood on tiptoes and knocked down the clock with my middle finger, catching it just so, turning it over, resetting it, and then yelling for help when I could not get it back up on its nail. I ran through the house dutifully resetting clocks in every room. I stared at the clock on the Corolla�s dashboard until I remember which two buttons on the radio need to be pushed at the same time for the hour to change.

And then I waited for today to enjoy it. What a disappointment! Who could tell that there was sunlight later? Who could tell there was sunlight at all? Who could see the sun for clouds and, worse, swirling snow? Who can celebrate sunlight through a winter-gray sky? Who can celebrate at all when trying to duct-tape the hole in the temporary sump line as the snow comes down and the water tries to spray up like a geyser?

The optimist in me says that there will be other daylights savings evenings to come. Eventually, the weather will warm up. Eventually, the sun will come out. Eventually, Mr. Philately will get over the plague and be up for an evening walk. Eventually, I�ll see a tulip or a daffodil.

I�m a child of the light�and I�m still waiting.

LAST YEAR: no entry�on vacation in Phoenix

The Clutter That Ate the House
I Can See Clearly Now
Influence and Control
Day-Hay�s Bat Mitzvah Speech
New Again

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!