UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-04-26 - 10:22 p.m.

This entry is a collaboration for On Display. This month's topic is "little things."

THE LITTLE THINGS ABOUT SEWING

Life contains big things such as a spouse, children, one�s profession, and health but life also contains little things such as sewing. Sometimes, the little things demonstrate much about the bigger things. That premise is one that poets such as Robert Frost have held dear. That premise is also one that I have held dear. Why do I look �Under the Microscope?� I do so because the little tells much about the big.

Most of this evening, I have been working on sewing a robe for Kat. Earlier, I measured, altered, and cut. Tonight I have ironed, measured, threaded, and stitched both by hand and machine. What have I learned from this activity? Maybe nothing. Maybe something. What have I realized? A lot.

A person who spends much time sewing notices little things. Some of them have greater applicability than others. So what have I noticed?

  • While a general pattern is very helpful, the end product is much more pleasing when you learn where and how to alter that pattern.
  • Nothing real ever quite looks like it did in the picture.
  • Lots of sequins and glitz all too often will blind people to flaws they otherwise would notice.
  • The mundane places are where reinforcement is usually needed.
  • If you�re afraid to clip the fabric, things will pucker.
  • Taking only one measure of a man is pointless and useless.
  • Periodically, you need to stop to try things on.
  • Everything has it�s time and place, even ironing.
  • Little touches can make a huge difference.
  • Guiding creates nicer things than pushing does.
  • It takes vision to look at the pieces and see the end product.
  • And most important,

  • the quality of work done on the inside dictates the general quality of the outside.
  • LAST YEAR: Lowering Standards

    Where the Wild Talks Are
    The End of Passover
    Driving Lessons
    Door Number Three
    Operator Error

    previous - next

    |

    Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
    Copyright 2006 by Ellen

    join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
    email:
    Powered by NotifyList.com

    On Display Ring
    [ Previous | Next ]
    [ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
    [ List Sites ]

    about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!