UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-07-22 - 2:58 p.m.

TERRORISM IN A SMALL TOWN

To someone from the Detroit area by way of Northern New Jersey, Milwaukee sometimes can feel like a small town. But Milwaukee is not a small town, as Mr. Philately regularly reminds me. According to him, even Des Moines is not a small town, it is just a very, very tiny city. And he should know from small towns. Kat�s high school is as populated as his hometown. If I needed any more convincing that occurs from noting that fact, his hometown paper, which we receive weekly, would do it.

We know the editor of the paper. Mr. Philately was friends with the editor when they both were in high school But big deal. EVERYBODY in town knows the editor of the paper as do a few refugees like Mr. Philately. Heck, if Mr. Philately still lived in town, he would know all of the news in the paper. By the time news is printed in the paper, usually the whole town knows it. He also knows that the editor generally tries hard to make the paper a real paper. Given the material he has to work with, he does a reasonably credible job most weeks. This week is one of the other weeks.

First, we have the issue of media bias. I am not sure whether the editor�s bias is left or right and my guesses might be wrong, based as they are upon his high school stands. But the poor city councilman from the biggest town in the area sure has grounds for complaint on the important issue whether his town should have a swimming pool. After all, Mr. Philately�s hometown paper, The Enterprise reports that with a neighboring town�s pool out of commission, the councilman �renewed his propaganda for a new aquatics center....�

Then, of course, there is the take on the news. Some weeks, I might have said that there is the take on what passes for news but this time, there is news. The problem is not finding news. The problem lies in determining its importance.

This week, on page 13 (but we are not superstitious), under the heading �News� (just so you�ll know), is the big headline. �TERRORISM ACT SPURS REWARD OFFER� Terrorism? In a small town in western Iowa? Is no where safe? What on earth could have happened? I certainly hope no one was hurt.

I know that you all are as concerned as I am but you can stop worrying now. This act of terrorism consisted of driving up to a rural home and shooting a weapon �like an old buffalo gun� at three defenseless show steers. While I agree with the sheriff that it was �an heinous act that was clearly outrageous,� I have trouble seeing the terrorism. While I can understand that the family inside, who did not hear the shots because the windows were closed, the wind was blowing the wrong direction, and the air conditioner was on, �has been terrorized,� I still do not see what here would cause the sheriff to emphasize in particular that the perpetrator could be charged with �terrorism.�

Oh, and don�t worry about the steer either. They were released from the vet hospital this week. Besides, Iowa apparently has a witness protection program for cattle. I have it on the highest authority from The Enterprise that the steers �are not at an undisclosed location where there is 24 hour surveillance.� The only concern I have left is whether they will remain safe. Apparently, they will be exhibited at the county fair and the article failed to assure me that they will be closely guarded.

And there you have it. Terrorism in a small town. Film (or a few stills) at 11:00�if anyone can stay up that late.

LAST YEAR: Giving Support

TWO YEARS AGO: Just Say No to Mail

IN CASE YOU MISSED THEM:
Who Wants to Marry My Husband?
Bath Time
THEY
Finding My Ladder (Yuck!)
The Interview

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!