UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-03-20 - 6:37 a.m.

This entry was written the evening of March 19, 2003. I could not post it then because Diaryland was moving to new servers.

WAR

War. There�s no avoiding it now but I haven�t felt for weeks or possibly months that there was any chance of avoiding it. The whole build-up to the war felt like being back in fifth grade where girls told other girls what they had to do to be �acceptable,� hoping all the while that they wouldn�t do it and moving the bar of acceptability if by some chance they did.

War. I spent part of today reassuring Day-Hay that there was a war during almost all of my childhood and my teen years and I still had a happy childhood. Yes, her parents may be a bit out of step from others she knows because they do not believe in this war but my parents didn�t believe in the Vietnam War either, long before not believing was popular. Despite our constitution, speech isn�t exactly free of consequences (as Kat found out when her vocabulary sentence for English paired President Bush and wantonly and she lost points) but I survived and my kids will too.

War. I spent 7:00 saying a quick prayer for everyone involved�our soldiers, the Iraqis, and anyone else who has the misfortune to be anywhere in the way. I spent shortly after 7:00 deciding that apparently the answer to my prayer was �no.�

War. I spent this evening stopping Kat from getting into her own private war with another girl from her driver�s ed class�and her reaction wouldn�t have been a pre-emptive strike as I saw the other girl swung first. I can�t exactly blame their tiff on the outbreak of war but it might have been part of why the other girl verbally took off after Kat over religion and then took a swing at her as they walked into the hallway. How do you tell kids on a day like today that differences should be settled with words? I didn�t even try. I just separated them and told them that they were NOT going to get physical.

War. Sigh.

LAST YEAR: Life as a Roller Coaster

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Keys, Glorious Keys
Keeping Above Water
Cooler By the Lake
Waiting Time
Being My Parents

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!