UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-08-25 - 10:00 p.m.

THOSE OF US ON THE GROUND FLOOR

I love my girl scouts. I don�t love the paperwork. Every year, I seem to have more of it to do. Every time someone on the council has a brilliant idea, I have more paperwork. This year�s idea was that Cadettes (troops of girls in sixth through ninth grade) should register in the spring. The hope was that it would aid with retention. I have no idea what it has done for the council. I know what�s it�s done for me�worse than nothing.

In the past, I�ve had a foolproof method for getting in paperwork and dues. The same method has worked extremely well for retention. We camp early in the fall. To camp, a girl must have in her registration paperwork and her dues. It�s that simple. We start off with a bang and an incentive. I then make one run down to council headquarters, complete the registration paperwork, and we go on the overnight.

Typically, I�ve had the parents come early for pick-up at the first meeting. They then have filled out the paperwork, written the checks, and made their volunteer commitments for the year. They�ve signed up to be co-leader for a day and for their daughter to be responsible for snacks. (Yes, I know some people believe that there are too many snacks at activities. All I can say in my defense is that these girls eat lunch at 11:15 a.m. and the meeting goes until 5:15 p.m. The times there has been no snack, I have needed a whip and chair.) It�s all wrapped up in one day, neat and tidy.

This year, I had as many of them as were at our last meeting fill out the paperwork. I now need to go back and get the other three (or, more likely, two. I believe one will drop out.) I also need to get money from everyone. I already went to council headquarters once for the first eleven. Now I�ll have to run out there again for the stragglers. I�ll get the money but it is requiring a mass mailing. I still haven�t figured out any efficient way to get volunteers signed up.

It�s not that council does nothing for us. They supply some lovely grounds on which we camp. They maintain some nice equipment for rent and a great resource library. They supply some trainings (although most of them are aimed at people with younger girls in their troops.) I just wish that they would consult those of us on the ground floor before having any more good ideas.

But then work is the same way. Most places are.

LAST YEAR: Casual Fridays (by Kat)

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Finding My Rhythm
My Mother, the Potential Terrorist
Talk About Frustration
The GeezerGazette
The Quest for Perfection

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!