UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-01-21 - 8:02 p.m.

TWIST AND TWIST AGAIN

Hurdle number one is now obvious. Once again, the problem is the push and twist. Once again, the problem is twisting with strength. But if we don�t get past this hurdle, it will cost someone a lot of money. And this task is a car task that doesn�t even require that the car move.

Tonight I showed Kat how to pump gas. After all, she is old enough to get her learner�s permit although she won�t have time until after Evita is over. Originally, the plan was to start her driving in the spring but we�ve had no snow so there seems to be no good reason to wait that would not also exist in a month or so. But I digress.

Tonight�s lesson was on pumping gas. The lever that opens the gas tank was no problem. She could see it and she could pull it. Although it took two tries, I do believe the child has a future in using credit cards. She could even find the directions on the pump and read them. It�s amazing what motivation will do.

Then it was time to loosen the gas cap. First, she tried it with one hand. She could not budge the cap. Then she tried it with two hands. It didn�t move. She wondered if it were stuck. I tried it. It came off easily.

She inserted the hose and raised the lever. After I showed her the �trigger thingie,� she started pumping the gas. She put the automatic pumping switch in place. She waited particularly well despite the cold, cold, cold weather. She released the automatic switch, flipped the lever like a pro, and returned the hose.

Piece of cake�until she had to put the gas cap back on. She could get it in. She could twist it on but she couldn�t make it click. She tried one hand, she tried two hand, but no click. I reached over and casually clicked it. I could feel her frustration.

It will come but it will come slowly. And if it doesn�t, there�s always full service. I just don�t think she�ll be able to afford it on the kindergarten teacher�s salary she intends to earn.

So, if the temperature ever reaches the upper twenties, we�ll need to practice with gas caps. It�s not exactly something that most kids have to practice but I guess it is something like turning on the burner or opening her locker. Bet you didn�t know warmer weather would cause us to twist and twist again.

LAST YEAR: Genetic Mirrors (Photo Intensive)

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

I Should Have Known
Making a List
Mellowing
Dreaming in Trains
Sorry

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!